LibGuides: Wills, Estates, and Trusts: Forms, Precedents, and Practice Guides

Standard Forms

O'Brien's Encyclopedia of Forms This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of legal forms and precedents in Word format for easy editing.

Available for use onsite at the CCLA Library.
Practical Guidance This link opens in a new window
Precedents, Practice Notes, Checklists, Tools, Automated Templates and more on a variety of subjects.

Available for use onsite at the CCLA Library.

Histrop's Estate Planning Precedents
Histrop's Estate Planning Precedents, by Lindsay Ann Histrop, includes a wide variety of precedents covering all aspects of wills and estates.

Available for use onsite at the CCLA Library.
Tax Planned Will Precedents
This service provides a general practitioner access to will clauses prepared by a tax and estate planning specialist with over 30 years' experience practising law.

Available for use onsite at the CCLA Library.
Wills & Estates - Canadian Forms & Precedents
Available for use onsite at the CCLA Library.

Islamic Wills, Trusts and Estate Drafting In Canada by Shahzad Siddiqui
Call Number: Texts - KF 755 S53 2021
Publication Date: 2021
This publication is a practical guide to Islamic estate planning within the context of Canadian law to meet both religious and secular requirements. One of the chapters addresses the drafting of Shari’a-compliant wills. There are also chapters on family and charitable trusts. This work also contains will and trust precedents, an examination of the administration of estates in the context of Shari’a law and a glossary. Precedents include a Dual Will for a Sunni Male Businessman, Will for a Female Sunni, Mutual Wills Agreement, a Mediation Brief, a Will with Henson Trust, Shi’a Will for a Male and Female, a Revocable Living Trust Deed, a Charitable Waaf Deed and a College Endowment Gift Agreement.

Will Drafting Resource Kit (ON)
This resource kit sets out important information to consider when drafting a will in Ontario. It begins with an overview of will drafting considerations and provides more in-depth information on beneficiary designations in a will, including registered plans and life insurance policies. It goes on to provide guidance on considerations for spouses and dependents, including the use of outright gifts and gift-over and anti-lapse provisions. It provides material on testamentary trusts including will drafting strategies using capital gains. It also discusses the use of additional documents in estate planning, such as codicils, holograph wills, international wills and memoranda. It provides a sample automated template of a basic will as well as sample letters, personal data checklists and retainer agreements for clients.