Evidence

Fully updated, this new edition of Butterworths Expert Evidence will ease the strain of managing expert evidence. Author Glenn Anderson, of the Nova Scotia Department of Justice, describes and analyzes the law of expert evidence in Canada from both the civil and criminal law perspectives.

Previous edition available in print at Texts - KF 8961 A953 2009.

This important title brings together in one accessible source the law of evidence that applies in civil and criminal proceedings before Canadian courts.

Written by a veteran litigator and an adjunct professor at both Canadian and U.S. law schools, this civil litigation book covers evidentiary questions lawyers face every day in court.

Available both in print at the above call number and online through Quicklaw.

This new edition of the seminal work offers current and in-depth coverage of the Canadian law of evidence, and has been updated to include significant recent developments. It is the only major Canadian treatise with in-depth coverage of both civil and criminal evidence.

A print version of the previous edition is available at the CCLA Library front desk.

The Law of Evidence, by David M Paciocco, Palma Paciocco, and Lee Stuesser, is Canada’s leading text in evidentiary law in both criminal and civil cases. For more than two decades, it has been relied upon by judges, practitioners, and scholars in the courtroom and in the classroom. The strength of the book is that it does not simply organize and describe the most important topics in the law of evidence; it is designed to simultaneously teach the law of evidence and provide a concise reference source of the leading authorities. In this newest edition of this frequently cited book, the authors continue the practice of organizing, explaining, and illustrating the law of evidence clearly, simply, and practically. The Law of Evidence, 8e, provides authoritative analyses of new cases, and portions of the book have been rewritten or reorganized to enhance discussion of the most important topics in evidentiary law.

Available both in print at the above call number and online through vLexJustis.

A quick and succinct reference to evidentiary matters, Civil Evidence Handbook includes the Evidence Acts from all common law provinces as well as the Canada Evidence Act and a concordance to these Acts.

Electronic Evidence in Canada contains a broad examination of electronically-stored information (ESI) from its creation to its admission into evidence in civil and criminal proceedings. The book discusses the nature and characteristics of ESI and how this influence admissibility at trial. It then covers the retention and destruction of electronic records, the obligations to preserve and produce ESI for litigation, spoliation, and the admissibility of ESI at trial.

The Law of Witnesses and Evidence in Canada is a leading comprehensive treatment of the law of evidence as it applies to evidence given by witnesses in civil and criminal proceedings, as well as before administrative tribunals, public inquiries, and legislative committees. This is a practical reference work, providing coverage and expert analysis of evidentiary issues as they arise in these types of proceedings.

Visual Evidence: A Practitioner's Manual is both a reference text and practical how-to guide for lawyers, judges, legal academics, law students, law enforcement officers, corporate security, campus security, loss prevention personnel, alarm and security professionals, security guards, and private investigators.

The Law of Evidence, by David M Paciocco, Palma Paciocco, and Lee Stuesser, is Canada’s leading text in evidentiary law in both criminal and civil cases. For more than two decades, it has been relied upon by judges, practitioners, and scholars in the courtroom and in the classroom. The strength of the book is that it does not simply organize and describe the most important topics in the law of evidence; it is designed to simultaneously teach the law of evidence and provide a concise reference source of the leading authorities. In this newest edition of this frequently cited book, the authors continue the practice of organizing, explaining, and illustrating the law of evidence clearly, simply, and practically. The Law of Evidence, 8e, provides authoritative analyses of new cases, and portions of the book have been rewritten or reorganized to enhance discussion of the most important topics in evidentiary law.

Available both in print at the above call number and online through vLexJustis.

Chock-full of practical information, this new publication is bound to become one of the most valuable resources in every litigator’s toolkit.

Written by a veteran litigator and an adjunct professor at both Canadian and U.S. law schools, this civil litigation book covers evidentiary questions lawyers face every day in court.

Available both in print at the above call number and online through Quicklaw.

Witness Preparation: A Practical Guide, Fourth Edition resource provides everything you need to know about choosing, interviewing, and preparing a witness. In addition to providing "tried and true" tips for witness preparation, it addresses significant developments in electronic discovery, the law of child witnesses and witnesses under a disability, and the law of conflicts of interest and privilege.