Labour and Employment Law

Annotated Occupational Health and Safety Act is a resource that provides annotations for cases from all levels of court and tribunals, presented under relevant sections of the act. These annotations provide easy access to hard-to-find decisions. And with approximately 2,500 of them included in one place, this book offers a collection of reported and unreported case law you'll ever need.

Canadian Employment Law is a one-stop reference that provides a thorough survey of the law and analysis of developing trends, suggesting potential avenues of attack as well as identifying potential weaknesses in the law. Canadian Employment Law has been cited by the Supreme Court of Canada, in superior courts in every province in Canada, and is used in law schools throughout Canada.

An overview of health and safety law across Canada, this text covers the topics of workplace duties and responsibilities, Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (W.H.M.I.S.), committees and representatives, work refusals, and reporting accidents and injuries.

For over two decades, this excellent resource has covered all the developments at the Canada Industrial Relations Board (CIRB) and its predecessor board. It provides expert commentary on more than 40 years of Board decisions and explains key statutory and jurisprudential changes over that same period.

Discrimination and the Law offers definitions of discrimination and affirmative action, exhaustive analysis of case law, and practical insight into the administration and enforcement of human rights legislation.

Comprehensive, understandable, and relevant across Canada, The Duty to Accommodate in Employment helps legal practitioners and human resources professionals grapple with a complicated array of accommodation issues in this rapidly developing area of law.

Education Labour and Employment Law in Ontario, Second Edition delivers comprehensive coverage of the latest developments in the law, policies, and practices governing teacher employment and jobs. From the collective bargaining rights of teachers in public education to special issues concerning Roman Catholic separate school boards, this substantive resource gives you a clear perspective on the complex issues that matter most to educators.

This unique text provides commentary and analysis of obligations owed by the employee to the employer and surrounding legal issues. The text is filled with practical strategies for dealing with issues of employee misconduct, dishonesty, disloyalty and more.

This text provides guidance on the legal risks and practical solutions for managing workplace illness and disability. It includes commentary on discrimination against disabled employees, human rights protection for employees, long and short term disability insurance and more. The text also provides case law, arbitral decisions, precedents of letters and pleadings, samples of collective agreement clauses and tables of statutes.

This practical text covers every relevant rule, topic and strategy essential to building and defending dismissal cases. It contains articles authored by lawyers that identity the essential facts in a case and how to prove them in a variety of employment-related actions.

The Employment and Labour Law Toolbox has been organized with your time in mind to enable you to find what you are looking for and gain an understanding of the relevant ideas quickly. For the first time in Ontario, a resource exists to help owners, managers, and entrepreneurs proactively manage their employees and get the job done.

Since the publication of the first edition in 1970, Labour and Employment Law: Cases, Materials, and Commentary has become the standard resource for labour and employment law courses across Canada. Prepared by a national group of academics — the Labour Law Casebook Group — the book has continued to evolve with each new edition, reflecting the considerable changes that have occurred in Canadian workplaces and the laws governing them.

This national publication reviews and analyzes the general trends in Canadian employment along with the underlying forces that are determining the future development of the law.

This manual takes a common-sense approach to wrongful dismissal litigation and other employment litigation, balanced with a thorough understanding of all relevant common and statutory laws.

This source contains the full text of Executive Employment Law. Numerous statutes limit the behaviour of executives and directors, including those dealing with: - Corporations - Employment - Securities - Tax - Retirement income - Immigration - Crime The highly seasoned editorial team of this publication provides an insightful, integrated analysis of the rights and obligations of executives and the boards of directors who supervise them. Updated three times per year, this unique looseleaf service covers both the common law applicable in most provinces, and the civil law of Québec. Caselaw references are hyperlinked to the full texts of the cases, case summaries, and QuickCITE case citator records.

The Employment Contracts Handbook, Fourth Edition provides detailed employment agreement precedents that cover a wide variety of circumstances. Included in this publication are letter agreements, formal agreements, executive employment agreements, and multiple alternative clauses that can be customized to fit specific relationships. It is more than a collection of precedents as it also includes updated information regarding judicial treatment and interpretation of contractual provisions. It is a complete resource for anyone engaged in preparing employment agreements, from novices and general practitioners to those who regularly prepare employment agreements.

This text offers an in-depth and up-to-date examination of the following areas: employment standards, labour relations, employment contracts, occupational health and safety, workplace safety and insurance, labour law, and human rights as they relate to the workplace.

It includes extensive legislative updates, new case law, and a sample employment contract. This edition also provides expanded content on labour relations and federal employment law. Detailed scenario questions supported by real-world case studies, “In the News” boxes, and sample forms contextualize content and encourage applied learning.

Workplace investigations have taken on new significance in Canadian employment law. Canadian human rights and Occupational Health and Safety legislation have mandated prompt and effective workplace investigations. Failure to meet these requirements exposes employers to significant damages, both financial and reputational. The Law and Practice of Workplace Investigations analyzes the various aspects of an investigation, including employer duties, consequences of errors, rules of conduct, techniques, and the rights of the accused. It also explores common issues surrounding privilege, negligent investigation, and recovery of costs. Author Gillian Shearer, an experienced and respected workplace investigator and employment lawyer, provides readers with access to all the necessary steps for planning and implementing effective, independent, and fair workplace investigations.

Complex challenges can arise when handling disability issues in the workplace. Using this guide, lawyers and HR professionals will be able to explore and tackle those challenges. The Law on Disability Issues in the Workplace offers a practical and concise approach that considers all aspects of disability claims, shaped by the experiences and knowledge of experts in the field of employment law.

The Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA, 2000) sets out the rights and responsibilities of employers and employees in Ontario workplaces. The standards outlined in the ESA, 2000 represent the minimum standards that employers must provide to their employees. The Ontario Employment Standards Act: Quick Reference focuses on the key obligations for employers under this broad piece of legislation.

This book offers a comprehensive overview of the law that applies to discrimination in employment and examines the issues that arise from the legislative framework.